The Florida police are asking legislators to not allow a law that would put in place deadlines for reporting a minor who has disappeared or died.
A bill called Caylee’s Law would require parents to report children missing within 12, 24, or 48 hours and the death of a child within one or two hours.
Law enforcement is worried that if the law is enacted that parents will hold off reporting their children missing, until 12, 24, or 48 hours. So, instead of reporting them missing immediately, they may wait until the time line outlined in Caylee’s Law, instead.
It is hard to believe that people would get that mixed up, but the Florida police may have something there, as there are still people that believe the myth that you must wait 24-hours before reporting a person missing.
Not reporting a child missing or dead is very rare, and when it does happen it is because a parent or guardian is the cause. With stats like that, then maybe Caylee’s Law is necessary. It could give the police something they could use to arrest the parent who is probably guilty, instead of letting them walk the streets pretending to search for their child.
Police have to gather evidence, and have irrefutable proof before they can lock up a parent, and sometimes the parent remains free, as there is no proof. With Caylee’s Law, at least the police would have that to arrest the parent with, while they find the proof they need. This law will probably not save a child, but it would help put away a guilty parent.
What do you think? Is Caylee’s Law something we need on the books, or a waste of time and money to implement?